Writing Update!

As we continue to work on our writing skills, the students and I conference regularly to make personalized writing goals. Currently, we are learning how to write paragraphs. After writing, students are encouraged to identify their strengths and next steps.  I encourage parents to discuss with their child what their personal writing goals are.

We have learned that the paragraph has four important parts:

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 6.23.03 PM

You can practice this at home using a similar template:

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 6.31.01 PM

Possible topics are:

    • Amazing facts I know
    • The best house pets
    • Activities for outdoor fun
    • What I like about where I live
    • A place I’d like to visit
    • A sport I’m good at
    • Things I’d like to change
    • Book characters I’d like to meet
    • Things that are hard to believe
    • Funny things my pet has done
    • The weirdest house pets
    • Activities for indoor fun
    • A helpful person I’ve met
    • A great place to go
    • Having fun at school

     

    Have fun writing!

    Screen Shot 2014-07-07 at 2.27.11 PM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *